CoBank Cooperative Scholarships Ag Scholarships Awarded

MANHATTAN, Kan. – CoBank is contributing to the education of future agricultural leaders with an interest in a career in finance or banking. Kendal Clawson, Russell Heier and Kellie Jackson were selected to be the recipients of the 2012-2013 CoBank Outstanding Student Scholarships.

Kendal Clawson of Satanta, KS, is a senior at Kansas State University, majoring in agricultural economics and finance. Kendal is a member of the NAMA team, Kansas Junior Charolais Association, American International Junior Charolais Association and Student Finance Association. He has also participated on the meat judging team and the livestock judging team. Kendal is a member of Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity and volunteers at the Manhattan Homeless Shelter and at other philanthropic activities. After graduation, he hopes to work as a banker or commodity merchandiser. The Clawson family is affiliated with the following cooperatives: Northwest Cotton Growers Co-op, Plains Cotton Cooperative Association, Garden City Co-op, Cropland Co-op, Sublette Co-op, United Prairie Ag, Pioneer Electric, Farm Credit of Western Oklahoma and U.S. Premium Beef.

Russell Heier of Olsburg, KS, is a senior at Kansas State University, majoring in agribusiness. He works as an intramural official and as a ranch hand for Heier Trust Land and Cattle. Russell completed an internship with KansasLand Bank. He is a member of the K-State AGEC/AGBUS club and Collegiate Farm Bureau. After graduation, Russell hopes to work as a loan officer or credit analyst and as a producer. The Heier family is affiliated with Farm Credit of Ness City and Hi Plains Cooperative Association.

Kellie Jackson of Clay Center, KS, is a junior at Kansas State University majoring in agricultural economics. She is a student worker for the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center. Kellie participated in an overseas study tour to England and Scotland. She also completed an internship with Farmers Cooperative Elevator Company. Kellie is involved in Cat Crew, Collegiate Cattlewomen and AGEC/AGBUS Club. Upon graduation, she plans to pursue a career in marketing or banking. The Jackson family is affiliated with MKC and Bluestem Electric Cooperative.

To be eligible for a scholarship, students must be either a junior or senior in high academic standing in K-State's Department of Agricultural Economics at the time the scholarship is received and must have completed accounting or finance classes. The student must demonstrate an interest in pursuing a career in banking or finance. In addition, the student or their parents must belong to or be employed by a farmer-owned cooperative.

The awarding of the CoBank Outstanding Student Scholarships is coordinated through the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center (ACCC), directed by Associate Professor Brian Briggeman. The ACCC

provides research-based information, education and assistance to people with and interested in cooperative businesses, including cooperative members, directors, managers and employees. The Center also works with students and faculty at educational institutions, the general public and public officials as well as owners, directors, managers and employees of agribusinesses.

COBANK, part of the U.S. Farm Credit System, provides financial solutions and leasing services to agricultural cooperatives, rural energy and communications systems, Farm Credit associations and other businesses serving rural America. The bank also finances agricultural exports and provides international banking services. The bank provides leasing services through its subsidiary, Farm Credit Leasing Services Corp. With approximately \$27 billion in assets, the bank is owned by approximately 2,500 customer-owners. COBANK is governed by a board of directors elected by the bank's customer-owners. The bank operates on a cooperative basis and, historically, a substantial portion of earnings is returned to the bank's owners in the form of patronage refunds. COBANK has offices throughout the U.S. and representative offices around the world. The national office is located in Denver, CO.

"Additional contributions by those who want to support the purposes of cooperative scholarships are welcome," Briggeman said. They should be made payable to "KSU Foundation/ACCC" and sent to the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center, Department of Agricultural Economics, 305 Waters Hall, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan. 66506.

Further information can be obtained about this scholarship or about establishing additional scholarships by contacting Brian Briggeman at the same address or e-mailing, bbrigg@ksu.edu.

-30-

K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county Extension offices, experiment fields, area Extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus in Manhattan.

K-State Research and Extension is an equal opportunity employer and provider. Kansas State University, County Extension Councils, Extension Districts, and U.S. Department of Agriculture Cooperating.

Arthur Capper Cooperative Center Agricultural Economics K-State Research and Extension

ACCCScholar\2012\CoBank Press2012

Photo: left to right: Kellie Jackson, Kendal Clawson, Alan Woodard – CoBank Region Manager, and Russell Heier at the K-State Agricultural Economics Awards Banquet, October 5, 2012