Liberty Thompson and Baylee Wulfkuhle Receive 2023-2024 David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarships

October 31, 2023 (MANHATTAN, Kan.) – Liberty Thompson of Elkton, South Dakota, a senior in agricultural economics and global food systems leadership, and Baylee Wulfkuhle of Lawrence, Kansas, a senior in agricultural economics and global food systems leadership, have been awarded the David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship through the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center and the Department of Agricultural Economics at Kansas State University.

Liberty Thompson serves as a K-State College of Ag Ambassador and has been part of the leadership team for the Mortar Board Senior Honor Society. She was selected to the KS Collegiate Corn Academy and is a member of the K-State Agricultural Economics/Agribusiness Club. Liberty worked part time for Farm Credit Financial Services while maintaining a high academic standard in her classes. She completed internships with CoBank and Frontier Farm Credit and will begin working with The Bank of Tescott after graduating in December 2023. Liberty and the Thompson family are affiliated with the following cooperatives: AgFirst Farmers Cooperative, Chandler Co-op, CHS Brandon, Dakotaland Federal Credit Union, Farmer's Co-op Elevator Company, GENEX, ITC, River's Edge Cooperative, Sinai Co-op Elevator Co., Sioux Valley Energy and Thrivent Credit Union.

Baylee Wulfkuhle grew up on a 4th generation farming and ranching operation. Her father and grandfather both served as directors on cooperative boards so she has a strong connection to the value of cooperatives. Baylee serves on the K-State College of Agriculture Student Council and is a KSU Food Security Scholar, a Student Fellow for the Center for Risk Management Education and Research, a K-State College of Ag Ambassador and a member of the K-State Agricultural Economics/Agribusiness Club. She is also a member of and has held leadership positions for the Kansas and National Junior Angus Associations. Baylee volunteers for several community organizations, works for K-State Athletics and served as a teaching assistant for the K-State Department of Agricultural Economics while excelling academically. She completed internships with Frontier Farm Credit and Landmark National Bank and upon graduation in December 2023, she plans to pursue graduate school or a career in ag lending. The Wulfkuhle family is affiliated with the following cooperatives: Free State Electric Cooperative, Frontier Farm Credit and KEPCO.

The David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship has awarded over \$151,597 in scholarships since its establishment in 2014. David and Susan Barton came to Kansas State University in 1976 and have been contributing to cooperative education for many years. They are now encouraging the next generation to develop into strong educated leaders.

"The purpose of the David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship is to encourage the development of leaders in the agribusiness community," states Professor Brian Briggeman, director of the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center. "It's also to provide significant financial assistance to eligible students enrolled in educational programs emphasizing these areas of study."

To be eligible for the David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship, a student must be either a junior or senior in K-State's College of Agriculture at the time the scholarship is received and be pursuing a degree in Agribusiness or Agricultural Economics. The recipient must also have strong academic performance and be affiliated as a member or as a child or dependent of a member or employee of a company operating on a cooperative basis in the United States (including agricultural, farm credit, credit union, rural electric or rural telephone cooperatives). Continuing K-State students are encouraged to fill out the K-State scholarship application to be included in the university scholarship process for the 2024-2025 academic year.

The David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship was established by donations from cooperative leaders as a thank you to the Bartons for their years of service to cooperatives. Family and friends added to the fund upon David's retirement from the university. David and Susan Barton matched more than twice the amount of each contribution made to the fund to further benefit outstanding students at Kansas State University. "Additional contributions by those who want to honor David and Susan Barton and support the purposes of the scholarship are welcome," Dr. Briggeman said. They should be made payable to "KSU Foundation/Barton" and sent to the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center, Kansas State University, Department of Agricultural Economics, 342 Waters Hall, Manhattan, KS 66506.

About the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center

The Arthur Capper Cooperative Center provides research-based information, education and assistance to people with and interested in cooperative businesses, including cooperative members, directors, managers and employees. The Center also works with students and faculty at educational institutions, the general public and public officials as well as owners, directors, managers and employees of agribusinesses. Further information can be obtained about this scholarship or about establishing additional scholarships by emailing Brian Briggeman at <u>bbrigg@ksu.edu</u> or visiting the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center website at <u>http://accc.k-state.edu/</u>.

###

K-State Research and Extension is a short name for the Kansas State University Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service, a program designed to generate and distribute useful knowledge for the well-being of Kansans. Supported by county, state, federal and private funds, the program has county extension offices, experiment fields, area extension offices and regional research centers statewide. Its headquarters is on the K-State campus in Manhattan. For more information, visit www.ksre.ksu.edu K-State Research and Extension is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Story by: Arthur Capper Cooperative Center Department of Agricultural Economics, Kansas State University K-State Research & Extension

Photo caption: Dr. David Barton, ACCC Director Emeritus and KSU AGEC Professor Emeritus, Liberty Thompson, Baylee Wulfkuhle and Susan Barton at the K-State Department of Agricultural Economics Awards Banquet, September 22, 2023.