## Lane Klepper Awarded 2024-2025 David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship

November 20, 2024 (MANHATTAN, Kan.) – Lane Klepper of Ellinwood, Kansas, a senior in agricultural economics – farm and ranch management option, has been awarded the David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship through the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center and the Department of Agricultural Economics at Kansas State University.

Lane Klepper, an active Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity member, has served as chapter president, activities chair and social chair during his time at K-State. He is part of the K-State Agricultural Economics/Agribusiness club and helped recruit new participants while serving as membership chair. He is also a risk management fellow and a Koch scholar. Lane grew up on a farm that raises wheat, corn, beans, milo and alfalfa and also has a cow-calf operation. He completed an internship with Producer Ag and hopes to work at a co-op in merchandising or management or pursue a master's degree upon graduation. Lane plans to eventually return to the family farm and keep the family connections to local cooperatives. The Klepper family is affiliated with the following cooperatives: American Plains Co-op, Ark Valley Electric Cooperative, Central Prairie Co-op, MKC and Midwest Energy.

The David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship has awarded over \$163,530 in scholarships since its establishment in 2014. David and Susan Barton came to Kansas State University in 1976 and have been contributing to cooperative education for many years. They are now encouraging the next generation to develop into strong educated leaders.

"The purpose of the David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship is to encourage the development of leaders in the agribusiness community," states Professor Brian Briggeman, director of the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center. "It's also to provide significant financial assistance to eligible students enrolled in educational programs emphasizing these areas of study."

To qualify, a student must be either a junior or senior in K-State's College of Agriculture, pursuing a degree in Agribusiness or Agricultural Economics and have a strong academic record. They must also be affiliated with cooperatives in the United States. Continuing students at K-State are encouraged to apply for university scholarships to have the opportunity to be included in the cooperative scholarship pool for the 2025-2026 academic year.

The David and Susan Barton Cooperative Leadership Scholarship was established through donations from cooperative leaders in appreciation of David and Susan Barton's contributions to cooperative education. David and Susan Barton matched more than twice the amount of each contribution made to the fund to further benefit outstanding students at Kansas State University. "Additional contributions by those who want to honor David and Susan Barton and support the purposes of the scholarship are welcome," Dr. Briggeman said. They should be made payable to "KSU Foundation/Barton" and sent to the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center, Kansas State University, Department of Agricultural Economics, 342 Waters Hall, Manhattan, KS 66506.

## **About the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center**

The Arthur Capper Cooperative Center is a public-private partnership in the Kansas State University Department of Agricultural Economics that provides research-based information, education and assistance to people with and interested in cooperative businesses, including cooperative members, directors, managers and employees. The Center also works with students and faculty at educational institutions, the general public and public officials as well as owners, directors, managers and employees of agribusinesses. <a href="http://accc.k-state.edu/">http://accc.k-state.edu/</a>

Photo caption: David Barton, KSU AGEC Professor Emeritus and ACCC Director Emeritus; Lane Klepper; Susan Barton, retired director, Telenet2