Emma (Thorpe) Meyer awarded 2024-2025 Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship

November 20, 2024 (MANHATTAN, Kan.) – Emma (Thorpe) Meyer of Athol, Kansas, a senior in agricultural economics at Kansas State University, has been awarded the Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship through the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center in the Department of Agricultural Economics at Kansas State University.

Emma (Thorpe) Meyer has been actively involved on campus serving as a Staley School of Leadership Ambassador, a Food Security Scholar and a Cargill Global Scholar. She also worked two jobs as a Jardine Resident Assistant and as a lab manager for the Kansas Value Added Foods Lab. Emma is a firstgeneration college student and currently works for Trinity Ag, LLC, while completing her degree. She gained experience with cooperatives by working for Kanza Cooperative and interning with Trinity Ag, LLC. Upon graduation in December 2024, Emma plans to continue her career with Trinity Ag, LLC.

The Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship, established in tribute to the late Joe Lieber and his enthusiasm for cooperative education, has awarded over \$98,500 in scholarships since its establishment in 2005. Lieber contributed to cooperative education and development for many years while serving as president of the Kansas Cooperative Council and was a respected leader in the co-op community.

"This scholarship was established by Joseph Lieber's family and the Kansas Cooperative Council to perpetuate the memory and contribution of Joe Lieber to the development and leadership of cooperative businesses," states Professor Brian Briggeman, director of the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center. "It also provides significant financial assistance to eligible students enrolled in educational programs emphasizing these areas of study."

To be eligible for Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship, a student must be either a junior or senior in K-State's College of Agriculture at the time the scholarship is received. The recipient must also be affiliated as a member or as a child or dependent of a member of a Kansas agricultural marketing, supply, or service cooperative that is a member of the Kansas Cooperative Council. Continuing K-State students are encouraged to fill out the K-State scholarship application to be included in the university scholarship process for the 2025-2026 academic year.

The Joseph Lieber Memorial Cooperative Scholarship was funded by contributions made to the Center's endowment fund with the K-State Foundation. Contributions have been made by the Kansas Cooperative Council and the Lieber family and friends in the cooperative community. "Additional contributions by

those who want to honor the memory of Joseph Lieber and support the purposes of the scholarship are welcome," Dr. Briggeman said. They should be made payable to "KSU Foundation/Lieber" and sent to the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center, Department of Agricultural Economics, 305 Waters Hall, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS 66506.

About the Kansas Cooperative Council

Kansas Cooperative Council is a voluntary trade association representing all forms of cooperatively structured business in Kansas. The mission of the Kansas Cooperative Council is to promote, support and advance the interests, business success and understanding of agricultural, utility, credit and consumer cooperatives and their members through legislation and regulatory efforts, education, and public relations.

About the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center

The Arthur Capper Cooperative Center is a public-private partnership in the Kansas State University Department of Agricultural Economics that provides research-based information, education and assistance to people with and interested in cooperative businesses, including cooperative members, directors, managers and employees. The Center also works with students and faculty at educational institutions, the general public and public officials as well as owners, directors, managers and employees of agribusinesses. <u>http://accc.k-state.edu/</u>

Photo caption: Emma (Thorpe) Meyer and Dr. Brian Briggeman, KSU AGEC Professor and ACCC Director